Saturday, December 8, 2012

Spreading a little Christmas...stress





This morning the whole family was in an uproar. No really there was some seriously loud, angry opinions being thrown back and forth. Someone needed a muzzle. It was me.

I made a error with the bank account funds this week. oops.

The Hubbs was NOT happy and now I'm working on fixing it. I've been productive - I've had two ladies turn in their facebook parties already. A nice bit of sales for the day and month. They've earned a nice PILE of free products as well :)  If anyone is interested in ordering now is the time to do it - head to my website, click "shop online" and type "Kristi" as the host.


Speaking of host specials - have you seen January's??? Well, if not I'll have a January spectacular post! lol
Plus watch for a fantastic give away!




Hop on over to my facebook page and leave me a message! 


Friday, December 7, 2012

This week's menu

Of course, like most women ages 24-56, I am very fond of Pinterest.  I grab recipes there and spread them around - sometimes even in my kitchen! 

Here's the quick version of the things that made me hungry... and will be cooked this week sometime. In no particular order I give you....



Mountain Meatballs

The Hubbs should like this manly meaty meal of awesomeness!


Chicken Cordon Bleu- roll ups

I think I like this one more than a regular Cordon Bleu because it's just rolled up. I don't like stuffing and pinning.


Mini Chicken Alfredo Shells

I may even get the boy to eat these! they look simple and tasty. 
I wonder if I made a double batch if it would feed everyone??




And for me - "Grown up Apple Cider"

This just sounds like happy in a...glass  or jug. Depending on how you're drinking it. Haha




I'm looking forward to all of them - would it be bad if I made them all in one day??  

Wanna share a recipe? Hit me up here


Saturday, December 1, 2012

When a stranger calls


My week has been the strangest most dramatic week I've lived through. Ok, maybe that statement was  a little more dramatic than my week was... but it was definitely strange.

First things first, this marks my third week of working for myself after leaving my retail management job. Working for one's self is amazing. I am more relaxed, I work when I want to work, which by the way is most of my day. I am always thinking about work. Always. It's a sickness.

On the flip side of this coin,  is working on commission completely. It's a world changer lemme tell ya. Instead of heading to a job, being paid to be treated anyway they see fit  and knowing that even if no customers walk through the door, you will still be paid for your time. Working on commission and working for one's self is the opposite. You are treated well (my boss does a great job! ha!) but if you have no customers that day - you've made a big 'ol goose egg.  True, I need to make less money here at home than I did when I was out working at a corporate job...but I still have bills to pay and an anxious husband who's trying to make it all work.

As you may know, I am a direct seller for an amazing company with amazing benefits and great people. Plus I do this from home and only head out the door a couple nights a week. Score! Shameless plug: I will be down in West Seattle for a cooking class at Luso Food & Wine sometime this month - I'll keep you posted.

This week was about bills needing to be paid - See? I'd bring you to the point of this post - my electricity was a bit farther behind than I intended and they called and freaked out... and said that I had to pay it now or else! Dun dun dunnnnn!  So I paid it - which I really didn't have the funds yet to do so. Damn. Did you know that the electric company here charges $120 to reconnect your power if they turn it off??? Isn't that a bit insane? What about people who couldn't pay because they lost their job? How is charging such a HUGE reconnect fee going to help them?

I know, I know they gotta make their money too - but shouldn't an utility company want to help people keep their power on? I mean do they feel bad when a family is cold because they are poor?? What is wrong with this picture?

Alright, enough rant.

My mother washed a whole novel in the wash machine with a load of clothes. I'm not entirely sure how she did that - I mean I know how she physically did that, but how does one miss a BOOK in the clothing?  Jury is still out on how the book was there in the first place. Prime suspect: the three year old.

In other news and in full Christmas spirit we are heading as a family to the Woodland Park Zoo's first "wild lights" display this year! I'm excited to have the boy see all the lights. Evidently Christmas lights are crazy exciting to three year olds! lol. I'm also looking forward to supporting the zoo's first try at this, and hopefully they will continue this next year. I don't want to drive all the way to Tacoma to the Point Defiance Zoo for their's again... It's just too far of a drive for this frugal mamma!

I'm researching holiday cookie recipes today until I find some different ones to make this year. Check out my pinterest boards while I'm looking, I will be repinning like a crazy woman! Also - I'll add some new hotness to the facebook page: www.facebook.com/thepchefs

Well, I think that's all for today, as if you all wanted to know more! haha